SAR RANnual Celebration News

Big SAR Weekend Coming Up: TMC/SAR run and stretch class; self-defense; and RANnual Celebration

Jan 26, 2018

See the SAR facebook page for details!


SAR Annual Celebration on Sunday Night - check out the list of award winners

Jan 21, 2015

Click here for updated details on the free SAR Annual Party on Sunday night, January 25 at Gentle Ben's at the UA Main Gate.  Click here to register so we know how much food to buy! See below for special SAR member awards to those who ran multiple Grand Prix races.

Check out the lists of names below -- if you're on the lists, you can pick up your special award at the award table.  Thanks to Board members Keith Schlottman, John Sabatine, Kara Middendorf, and Lucas Tyler for helping recognize those who raced multiple SAR Grand Prix races.  

Those who ran every SAR Grand Prix race will receive a special commemorative medallion and a free race entry into the 2015 SAR race of their choice.
Ed Berkeley
Ramon Billy
Joe Faulk
John Hertzog
Shane Inman
Bob Marshall
Richard Senti
Daryll Brosanders
Marti Ackermann
Nancy Fuller
Shirley Hester
Aimee Kaempf
Connie Lopez
Laura Marshall
Tracy Mitchell
Erin Paradis
Joanie Rogucki

Those who raced at least six (6) SAR Grand Prix races will receive a commemorative medallion.
Don Branaman
Daryll Brosanders
John Chamberlain
James Hudson
Andrew Turk
Ed Berkeley
Ramon Billy
Alec Briones
Shane Carr
Ernesto Chavez
Hemant Damle
Scott Ellis
Jp Fajardo
Joe Faulk
Steve Felde
Gary Giese
Benito Gonzalez
Aaron Hausman
John Hertzog
Bill Hill
Steven Hollander
Shane Inman
Don Jennings
Alastair Laing
Tim Lee
Jay Lindbergh
Bob Marshall
Guy McArthur
David Mellady
Kurt Michels
Marty Michelson
Robert Norwood
Ruben Ochoa
John Otto
Steven Outridge
Andrew Peck
Glenn Peck
Budana Prijadi
Leo Richard
Russell Riordon
Paul Robillia
Wayne Rogers
John Sabatine
Richard Senti
Steve Sheldon
Chad Simpson
Robert Sparks
Joel Stamp
Tyler Tate
Lucas Tyler
Danny Wilson
Mike Wilson

Dari Duval
Diane Manzini
Marti Ackermann
Melody Bailey
Jeri Baker
Robin Benge
Katie Bindschadler
Mary Black
Anna Carr
Maureen Cunningham
Georgia Ehlers
Liz Farkas
Sheryl Felde
Nancy Fuller
Karen Gallagher
Jennifer Garcia
Teresa Gregory
Catherine Harris
Michelle Hawk
Tanya Hertzler
Shirley Hester
Rachel Hilgeford
Debbie Jensen
Aimee Kaempf
Michelle Kaseler
Lisa Kiser
Julie Klinker
Connie Lopez
Laura Marshall
Erin McGinnis
Tracy Mitchell
Erin Paradis
Mary Puig
Joanie Rogucki
Susan Salmon
Lori Schiffler
Cindy Schnell
Becca Slater
Sue Smith
Angela Stout
Irene Swanson
Stephanie Wenneborg
Sandy White
Denise Yingst


Upcoming Races

Dec 11, 2014

Click here to see SAR's most recent emailing, including links to upcoming races, free runs, and social events. This weekend is the free Winterhaven Run Through the Lights - bring a can of food and your caroling voice.  January 10th sees the free BEYOND event at Saguaro National Park WEST, while January 11th is the first event in the 2015 Running Shop Grand Prix, the venerable Sun Run 10k and 5k at Reid Park.  The Sun Run will once again host a pancake breakfast, so you can run the pancake-flat course then chow down.  January 25th is the TMC Sunrise at Old Tucson Trail Run at historic Old Tucson Studios -- this year the race is capped to 600, so sign up early if you want to hit the trails and take advantage of the free entry to Old Tucson, the Desert Museum and the Wildlife Museum.  Sunday, January 25th is also the date of the free Annual Celebration Dinner, which will be held at the popular Gentle Ben's Brewery at the UA's Main Gate Square.  After that, it's the Fine Valentine and Couple's Relay down at the UA, and then the TMC BE TUCSON Women's 5k and Mile at La Encantada . . . we've got a lot going on, so mark your calendars!


SAR Annual Celebration

Dec 28, 2012

Please join us for the 8th Annual SAR Year End Celebration on Friday, January 25, 2013 from 6:00pm-9:00pm at the Hotel Congress, Copper Room (311 E. Congress St.).

All SAR members are invited to an evening celebrating the accomplishments of runners in our community, honoring the winners of the 2012 SAR Running Shop Grand Prix and the Volunteers of the Year and kicking off the 2013 season.  Our goal is simple, to have fun with our friends from the running community and celebrate another great year.

Entertainment will include the fantastic David Fitzsimmons, cartoonist for the Arizona Daily Star!

Seating is limited to 120 people so act now to reserve your spot. Registration must be sent in with your payment by Tuesday January 15, 2013. For more details please visit the event web page at


Please join the Southern Arizona Roadrunners at our annual dinner, on Sunday evening, January 24th

Dec 5, 2009

Please join the Southern Arizona Roadrunners at our annual dinner, on Sunday evening, January 24th, 2010 at El Parador restaurant (2744 E. Broadway, west of Country Club).  Our goal is simple: have fun by socializing with friends, strangers, and comrades from our running community.  The agenda includes social conversation from 5:00-6:00 with music from the Determined Luddites, the regular Meet Me At Maynard’s band.  Other activities include a word from club President, Mary Lasser, including recognition of the Children’s Fitness Fund award winners and recognition of the Rob Bell Memorial Award winner.  The SAR volunteer committee responsible for managing the Running Shop Grand Prix is coordinating recognition and awards for the Volunteers of the Year and the Grand Prix overall and age group winners.

We will also have “Around the Room” stories from the past year.  Please send stories and photos to event organizer, .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address).

Cost:  $12 Adults, $5 Kids (kids menu chicken fingers and french fries)

Schedule of events:  5:00 - 6:00 - social hour (cash bar)
                    6:00 food served (mexican buffett)
                    6:30 - Awards start

RSVP by printing, completing, and mailing to SAR your RSVP form. 
RSVP and payment due Monday, January 15th.
Please understand that we cannot accept payment at the door, so please do RSVP and send in payment before January 18th.
Please send pictures and stories about your running highlights from 2009 to .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)


The Southern Arizona Roadrunners is a not-for-profit organization dedicated to promoting health and fitness in Tucson and Southern Arizona through running and walking.

southern arizona road runners