Sabino Canyon Sunset Run 2019 - Race Recap!

steve outridge April 15, 2019

** For those of you wondering about picking up age group awards because you couldn't stay for the awards ceremony, you can pick up your awards at Performance Footwear on Broadway near Craycroft


Before I launch into race results, I’d like to right up front, thank all of the amazing volunteers that help to make this event such a consistently well-executed and well-loved event by so many.

All of us have very personal reasons for running but recognize that being a part of the running community in Southern Arizona is invaluable to us. These events that we all enjoy simply would not be possible if it weren't for the selfless efforts of many volunteers whose efforts often go completely unnoticed and even begin days ahead of the event!

On behalf of SAR we say, THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU!

This year’s Sabino volunteer list includes (and we apologize for anyone we have missed):

Erik Sanders, Randy Sookoo, Jordan Schmidt, Jessica Bee, Tim Bentley, Josh Blais, Alexandra Brasington, Shreya Chilukuri, Travis Cramer, Linden Darling, Jennie Duberstein, David Edwards, Michelle Edwards, Georgia Ehlers, Chris Fall, Joe Faulk, Sheryl Felde, Steve Felde, Dale Flannery, Jeff Fulks, Eddie Garcia, Chris Garcia, Jen  Garcia, Jill Gubanich, Janet Holland, Heather Hopkins, Pam Hoyt, Ella Johnson, Emily Johnson, Kyle Johnson, Max Johnson, Debbie Jones, Justine Kanuho, Connie Lopez, Midge Ochart, Gary Parcher, Joe Plassmann, Kara Rubelt, Joel Stamp, and Rachel Toth

If you love SAR events and running in southern AZ, please consider giving back by becoming a volunteer. To learn how to become involved, please visit SARs volunteer page at

And now for the running! It was a beautiful night in Sabino with cooler temps, and the runners took full advantage!

For the women first place was taken home by Lauren Reasoner in a very impressive time of 47:56, good for 6th place in the overall race. Second place was Caroline Mosley in 49:53 and in third was Kristin Taylor in 54:11. The women’s masters crown went to Janet Holland in an excellent time of 56:45.

On the men’s side the overall title was garnered by Jeffrey Gehring in a speedy 45:05, followed closely by second place Lucas Tyler in 45:31, and in third place was Robert Rozetko in 46:40. Robert was the first masters male but since he got third overall, the masters crown was presented to 4th place overall Brian Hall who finished just behind Robert in 46:55.

Congrats to all of the overall and age group winners, as well as to everyone that conquered this tough 7.4 mile paved course!

We certainly have many other people to thank. Firstly, we would like to thank the Forest Service for allowing us to continue having out event in this breathtaking location. Secondly, we would like to thank our amazing event sponsors, Summit Hut, Proactive Physical Therapy, Performance Footwear, Tucson Orthopaedic, eegees, Risky Business and the Tile Outlet who donated the tile used to create the custom coaster awards. Please make sure to support these amazing local businesses and thank them for their support of our running community. Finally, we’d like to thank other important contributors to the event such as Rural Metro, Selena Valencia Photography, and the Friends of Sabino Canyon (the organization that this event supports). Please look up the FOSC on line to see all of the tremendous things they do to help make the canyon a fantastic place for us all to visit.

Until next year, this is your intrepid race director signing off.


Steve Outridge

The Southern Arizona Roadrunners is a not-for-profit organization dedicated to promoting health and fitness in Tucson and Southern Arizona through running and walking.

southern arizona road runners