RACE RECAP - Dave’s Run for ALS 2019

steve outridge March 25, 2019

It was an amazingly beautiful spring day in Tucson for the 19th annual Dave’s Run for ALS presented by the Southern Arizona Roadrunners. We are excited that we had nearly 500 finishers combined in the 3 events and over 50 people who took on and completed Dave’s Double (finishing both the 5K and 10K on the same morning)!

This was our second year at Curtis Park and we really like this venue and the courses that we’ve been able to put together. Many thanks to Pima County Parks for allowing us to host our event here. We plan on being back if they’ll have us!

In addition to all of the many cool perks to be had at this event, this year there were a lot of additions including the 5K being the AZ State Championship, custom finisher medals for every finisher of the 5K and 10K, and pancakes for breakfast! We’re going to search for ways to up our game even more next year for the 20th annual Dave’s Run for ALS! We are honored to be able to raise money for the fight against ALS in honor of David Filer. In fact, many of his inspiring family joined in the festivities again this year and it was fantastic to welcome them!

In the 5K, congratulations to your State Champions on the men’s side who are: Male Open: Gabe McGowan (15:58); Masters: Todd Kornfeld (17:22); Grand Masters: Robert Rozetko (18:41); Super Grand Masters: Joe Reda (19:17). Congratulations as well to the amazing women who are AZ State 5K champs for 2019: Female Open: Paula Morrison (18:34); Masters: Stephanie Wheeler (20:18); Grand Masters: Sharon Silvas (20:14); Super Grand Masters: Merry Dearmon (22:04).

The top 3 women in the 5K overall this year were: 1st Place: Paula Morrison (18:34), 2nd Place: Caroline Mosley (18:51), 3rd Place: Julia Vigil (19:50). And on the men’s side the winners were: 1st Place: Gabe McGowan (15:58), 2nd Place: Bjorn Wastvedt (16:40), 3rd Place: Colin Wu (16:54).

In the 10K the top 3 women overall were: 1st Place: Nicole Pearce (38:45), 2nd Place: Tia Accetta (40:18), 3rd Place: Emily Maass (42:31). On the men’s side the winners (to my recollection) were all part of the Tucson Grinders. In First Place: Bjorn Wastvedt (35:02), Second Place: Colin Wu (35:53), 3rd Place: Todd Kornfeld (36:51).

In our team competition the winners of the free eegees party was The Workout Group, with second largest team being Team Hoyt, and the third largest was Tucson Grinders. Many thanks to everyone who registered as a part of a team.

We need to thank our steadfast partners who sponsor this event and our local community. Their support is vital to our success. The Running Shop, Smith Performance Center, Team Woodall Long Realty, Tile Outlet, eegees, and the RRCA. And, of course, many thanks to our FitKidz sponsors Tucson Medical Center, Tucson Orthopaedic Center, Casas Adobes Rotary, Tucson Conquistadores, Vantage West, Champ Youth, Each Brain Matters, Tile Outlet, Desert Diamond Casinos, Smile Straight Orthodontics, eegees, General Dentistry 4 Kids, Sunset Embroidery and Screen Print and My Gym Tucson.

Other event supporters to thank include DJ Rich, Michele Bauer Photography, Petunia the Clown, Nektar Juice Bars, Northwest Fire, and Sunset Embroidery and Screen Print (who had coffee for us and organized all of the incredible Team Hoyt athletes).

And what can we say about all of the volunteer support from the best running community in the Southwest other than thank you, thank you, thank you! We are likely to inadvertently leave out some names here and we apologize for that ahead of time: Marti Ackermann, David Andrews, Monica Bermudez, Alexandra Brasington, Morey Brown, Betsy Campbell, Mary Croft, Maureen Cunningham, Doreen Davis, Merry Dearmon, Dave Dixon, Joe Faulk, David Odom, Sheryl Felde, Steve Felde, Jeff Fulks, Robin Gerard, Denise Gizinski, Michelle Hawk, Rogelio Hernandez, Heather Hopkins, Debbie Jones, Joshua Kaplan, Brian Leroy, Connie Lopez, Kelly Mack, Dave Melendez, Craig Mills, Noemi Mills, Stephen Moore, Abby Nastase, Gary Parcher, Andrew Peck, Glenn Peck, Laura Penny, Joe Plassmann, Antonio Ramirez, Gracia Ramirez, Erik Sanders, Jordan Schmidt, Cindy Schnell, Steve Sheldon, Don Taylor and Sandy White.

Until next year, drop yours truly (the RD) an email if you can think of anything you would like to add to or change to make this event better.



    Steve Outridge

    obo Southern Arizona Roadrunners

The Southern Arizona Roadrunners is a not-for-profit organization dedicated to promoting health and fitness in Tucson and Southern Arizona through running and walking.

southern arizona road runners